History of Scotland

The Birth of Scotland

Scotland’s history is long and unique. Many battles and wars have been fought and won in Scotland, and our rich heritage owes no small thanks to Scotland’s colourful history.

Scotland’s recorded history began with the arrival of the Roman Empire. Despite building two impressive fortifications – Hadrian’s Wall to defend the northern border, and Antonine Wall to advance it forward – the Romans never truly conquered Caledonia. Unable to defeat the Caledonians and Picts, the Romans eventually withdrew and over time retreated away from Britain.

The arrival of the Vikings occurred around 800AD as they began migrating from Norway and Denmark, crossing the treacherous North Sea to trade and settle in Scotland. While Vikings began to settle in the west, the Picts were forging a new kingdom; the Kingdom of Alba.

Fighting for Independence

In the 13th century, Alexander II and his son clashed with the Norwegian king, Hakon, at the Battle of Largs in Ayrshire, fighting for territories in the west of Scotland. Three years later, Magnus Hakonarson gave up Scotland’s western coast to Alexander III.

A succession crisis brought unrest to Scotland after the death of Alexander III. England’s monarch, Edward I, believed he should be recognised as overlord of Scotland and his troops marched north in a series of bloody sieges. In 1297, Edward’s army planned to cross the River Forth at Stirling Bridge; the Scots seized the opportunity to attack at the crossing of the River Forth, the Stirling Bridge, forcing the English army to retreat. It was here one of Scotland’s most famous figures, William Wallace, earned his place in the history books forever.

Scotland was yet to win its freedom. Wars for Scottish independence followed, as the Scots attempted to rid themselves of English influence. William Wallace and Robert the Bruce are famous figures in the history of Scottish independence, though the conflicts continued for centuries after the lives of these two figureheads.

The Union of the Crowns

In 1542 Mary is crowned Queen of Scots at just nine months old. Her reign was marked by civil unrest during the Rough Wooing and conflict between the Catholics and Protestants during the Reformation. Worried Mary would try to launch a Catholic plot against her, Elizabeth I imprisoned Mary in England until her execution in 1597.

James VI succeeded the throne at just 13 months old after Mary was forced to abdicate. When Elizabeth I died with no children, James VI succeeded to the English throne and became James VI & I – a historic move that’s now known as the Union of the Crowns.

In 1707 The Act of Union brought Scotland even closer to Britain by creating a single Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain at the Palace of Westminster.

Civil Unrest

The Battle of Culloden in 1746 was the final Jacobite rising and the last battle fought on British soil. The Jacobites were no match for the Hanoverian army – the battle lasted just an hour and the army was brutally crushed.

Shortly after the defeat of the Jacobites at Culloden, a period known as the Highland Clearances began. A number of laws were introduced in an attempt to assimilate the Highlanders; speaking Gaelic and wearing traditional tartan attire was banned, and clan chiefs had their rights to jurisdiction removed.

The Age of Enlightenment

The ideas from philosophers living in Scotland during The Age of Enlightenment shaped the modern world. The intellectual movement sought to understand the natural world and the human mind and ranged across philosophy, chemistry, geology, engineering, technology, poetry, medicine, economics and history. Figures like Thomas Hobbes, David Hume, Adam Smith, Robert Burns and Sir Walter Scott are still celebrated for their achievements.

Into the 21st Century

Films like Braveheart and Trainspotting helped to establish Scotland as a cultural powerhouse; authors, artists and musicians from Scotland were enjoying renewed success. J.K. Rowling wrote the global phenomenon Harry Potter in Edinburgh, and in 1997 scientists from the Roslin Institute successfully cloned the first mammal from an adult cell, Dolly the Sheep.

The growth of Scottish nationalism triggered the demand for a devolution referendum. In September 1997 the vote was in favour of devolved powers and in 1999 the Scottish Parliament reconvened for the first time in nearly 300 years, ushering in a new era for the Scottish people.

The devolved government for Scotland is responsible for most of the issues of day-to-day concern to the people of Scotland, including health, education, justice, rural affairs and transport.

On the 18 September 2014, the people of Scotland voted in the Independence Referendum. In response to the question, 'Should Scotland be an independent country', 45% voted ‘Yes’ and 55% voted ‘No’.

苏格兰历史和政府

苏格兰的诞生

苏格兰记录在案的历史始于罗马帝国入侵时期。除了在北边修筑哈德良长城和安东尼长城作为防御堡垒以外,事实上罗马人从未真正占领过喀里多尼亚。长期与喀里多尼亚人及皮克特人的对峙而无进展,使得罗马人最终放弃了对大不列颠的侵略。

维京人在公元800年左右,从挪威和丹麦远涉北海到达苏格兰进行贸易活动,并在苏格兰落户。在他们陆续移居苏格兰西部时,皮克特人正在锻造一个新的帝国:苏格兰王国。

独立斗争

13世纪时,亚历山大二世和他的儿子,在艾尔郡的拉格斯战役中与挪威国王哈孔交战,争夺苏格兰西部土地。三年后,马格努斯∙哈孔纳森被迫将苏格兰西海岸让于亚历山大三世。

亚历山大三世去世以后,苏格兰又开始了腥风血雨的历程。英格兰国王爱德华一世认为自己的君权理应在苏格兰被承认,于是他的军队在暴力的斗争中血腥北上,1297年苏格兰人民在英格兰士兵横渡福斯河时抓住了反抗的机会, 在斯特灵桥战役中迫使英军撤退。正是这场重要的战役,奠定了它的领导者威廉∙华莱士在史书上不可磨灭的地位。

苏格兰仍在为了赢得自由而继续征战。为使苏格兰挣脱英格兰的束缚,一系列苏格兰独立战争接踵而至。威廉∙华莱士和罗伯特∙布鲁斯是苏格兰独立史上最重要的两个人物,但是在他们俩去世后,斗争仍持续了几个世纪之久。

联合政权

1542年,玛丽刚刚9个月时,便被加冕为苏格兰女王。她的王朝在宗教改革期间,由于天主教和新教之间的冲突而动乱不断。伊丽莎白一世因担心玛丽会扶持天主教,而把她囚禁在英格兰,直到1597年将她处决。玛丽被迫下台之后,仅13个月的詹姆斯六世继位。伊丽莎白一世死后无子嗣,詹姆斯六世便继承了英格兰王位,即詹姆斯六世和一世—一个划时代的联合政权纪元就此诞生。

在威斯特敏斯特通过的1707年联合法令,通过设立单一英国议会的方式,拉近了苏格兰与大不列颠王国的距离。

内乱

1746年的卡洛登战役是最后的詹姆斯派叛党叛乱,也是在英国土地上发生的最后一场战役。詹姆斯派叛党远不是汉诺威军队的对手,战斗仅仅持续了一个小时,就以叛军的失败而告终。

詹姆斯派叛军在卡洛登战役中被击败后不久,“高地整风”时代开始。一系列法令被引入苏格兰高地,旨在同化高地人。法令禁止人们说盖尔语,禁止穿戴传统部落服饰,部落首领的司法权也被剥夺。

启蒙时代

苏格兰哲学家们在启蒙时代的观点塑造了现代世界。这一思想运动旨在认识自然世界和人类心智,其范围涉及到哲学、化学、地质、工程、技术、诗歌、医学、经济和历史。这一时代的著名人物有托马斯·霍布斯、大卫·休谟、亚当·斯密、罗伯特·彭斯和沃尔特·司各特爵士,他们的成就让人们纪念至今。

进入21世纪

《勇敢的心》和《猜火车》这样的电影帮助苏格兰塑造了文化发电站的形象,苏格兰的作家、艺术家和音乐人则继续强化着这一形象。JK罗琳在爱丁堡创作出了席卷世界的哈利波特,而在1997年,罗斯林研究所的科学家们则成功地从成体细胞中克隆出了第一只哺乳动物—多利羊。

苏格兰民族主义的发展引发了民众对于分权的呼声。1997年9月,民意公投决定苏格兰分权,1999年,苏格兰议会在近300年后第一次再次成立,开启了苏格兰人民的新纪元。

苏格兰的分权政府对绝大多数的苏格兰人民日常事务负责,包括医疗、教育、司法、农村事务及交通。

2014年9月18日,苏格兰人民进行了“苏格兰是否应该成为独立国家”的独立公投。最终45%的人选择了“是”,而55%的人选择了“否”。