Culture in Scotland

Scotland is a nation with strong cultural identity. From whisky and golf, to haggis, kilts and bagpipes, there’s no country in the world like Scotland.

But there is more to us! Take our food, for example. We all know the stereotypical notions of traditional Scottish fare – haggis, porridge and whisky. Not anymore. Scotland's new elite of super-chefs like Gordon Ramsay, Nick Nairn and Andrew Fairlie are taking the country's incredible natural produce – our beef, venison and seafood – and elevating them to Michelin starred levels.

Or that the kilt is making a comeback on the catwalk as designers like Jean Paul Gaultier, Vivienne Westwood and Glasgow's own Jonathan Saunders take traditional Scottish dress to places the clan chiefs never dreamed of.

Everybody knows the cliché of the piper on the shortbread tin. But have you experienced the breath-taking reality of a hundred pipers playing in unison? This isn't an image from Scotland's cultural past: it happens every August at the Edinburgh Military Tattoo and on Glasgow Green.

We’re also famous for our delicious, refined Scotch Whiskies, and we’re home to more than 550 golf courses including world-class venues such as the Old Course at St. Andrews and Carnoustie.

Scottish traditions are not something sterile and never changing. They are vibrant, living things, constantly growing and evolving, and every generation adds the thumbprint of its own particular Scottish culture to the whole.

Our National Celebrations

The traditional Burns Supper, Hogmanay and St Andrew's Day celebrations are still very much a part of Scottish culture but the Scots are now joined on these special days by Scots at heart across the globe.

"Auld Lang Syne", a traditional Scottish song first written down by Scotland’s own Robert Burns, is the second most popular song in the world after "Happy Birthday". You may know it as ‘You Yi Di Jiu Tian Chang’, or ‘Friendship Forever’.

苏格兰文化与传统

苏格兰是一个有着强烈文化认同感的民族。从威士忌、高尔夫到哈吉斯、苏格兰裙和风笛,苏格兰的文化在世界上独一无二。

然而苏格兰不仅仅只有这些!以食物为例,我们都知道苏格兰的传统“三宝”----哈吉斯、燕麦粥和威士忌。现在已经不仅限于此了。苏格兰的戈登∙拉姆齐、尼克∙奈恩、安德烈∙费烈这些新贵厨神们玩转苏格兰本土食材----我们的牛肉、鹿肉和海鲜,在他们的料理下荣登米其林殿堂。

传统的苏格兰裙在设计师让∙保罗·高缇耶、维维安∙韦斯特伍德,还有我们格拉斯哥本土设计师乔纳森∙桑德斯手中摇身一变,成了T台上的最新潮流,传统图案随着猫步走向了古老氏族首领们从未想象过的时尚舞台。

大家都熟悉奶油曲奇饼干盒上老套的风笛手形象,但是您体验过上百名风笛手齐声吹奏的震撼吗?这不存在苏格兰的文化旧历中,而是当下每年八月在爱丁堡军乐节和格拉斯哥绿地上演的节目。

我们还有在世界上享有盛名的香醇威士忌。我们也是高尔夫的故乡,拥有超过550多个高尔夫球场,包括圣安德鲁斯的老球场和卡洛斯蒂的世界顶级高尔夫球场。

苏格兰的传统并不是墨守成规、一成不变的,这些传统是蓬勃的、动态的存在,它们不断地生长与发展着,苏格兰的每一代人都为苏格兰文化的大图景添上了独有的印记。

我们的民族庆典

传统的彭斯晚宴苏格兰新年夜圣安德鲁斯日庆典仍然是苏格兰文化中的重大节庆。不仅仅是苏格兰人,全世界怀有苏格兰之心的人们,都会在世界不同的角落加入这些特殊的时刻。

《Auld Lang Syne》这首传统苏格兰民歌由苏格兰民族诗人罗伯特∙彭斯所作,这首歌是全世界除《生日快乐歌》之外最流行的歌曲。您可能听说过,这首歌在中文里被称为《友谊地久天长》,也叫《友谊永恒》。