Where is Scotland

The northernmost country in the United Kingdom, Scotland shares a border with England and is home to nearly 800 small islands, including the Hebrides and the Isle of Skye. Scotland is surrounded by the North Sea, to the east, and the Atlantic Ocean, to the north and west.

Flying from China to Scotland will take around 11 hours when flying from Beijing, 13 hours from Hong Kong and 12 hours from Shanghai.

Scottish Climate

The climate of Scotland varies greatly from region to region, just as it does in all countries, but it is characteristically very mild. 

During winter, the days are short in Scotland but during summer, days are very long, often with an extended daylight that can last until 11 pm. Snow is common in Scotland during winter; snow falls in Scotland for 15 to 20 days on average throughout the country, though these numbers are much higher in the Highlands.

January and February are Scotland’s coldest months, while July and August are normally the warmest months in the country.

Nature and Outdoors

Magnificent mountains, atmospheric glens, dramatic coastlines, picturesque lochs and rivers and fabulous forestry: no wonder Scotland’s scenery has a reputation for being among the most spectacular in the world.

Scotland is also an enviable haven for walkers of all aspirations, offering from family-friendly riverside strolls to long-distance routes, such as the West Highland Way and the Southern Upland Way, as well as high-level mountain hikes for the more adventurous.

One of the most acclaimed adventure activities in Scotland is mountain biking, thanks to dozens of purpose-built, forest-based mountain bikes centres. Scotland boasts one of Europe’s largest and most prestigious mountain bike centres – Glentress near Peebles in the Scottish Borders.

Scottish wildlife is abundant, from native species such as the elusive Scottish wildcat to beavers, which have been successfully reintroduced to Scotland at Knapdale Forest, Argyll. Other Scottish wildlife gems include red deer, pine marten, otters, and a host of birds of prey, as well as sea mammals, such as dolphins, porpoises and whales. You will be amazed, too, by the stunning sight of leaping salmon on Scotland’s many fish-rich rivers.

苏格兰在哪里?

苏格兰气候

和大多数国家一样,苏格兰不同地域之间的气候差异较大,但总体而言,苏格兰属于温带气候类型。

苏格兰的冬季昼短夜长,而在夏季,白昼时间增长,日光经常要到持续到夜里11点才褪去。苏格兰的冬天常常下雪,全境每年平均有15-20个下雪天,雪天数量在高地地区则远远超出平均水平。

一月和二月是苏格兰最寒冷的月份,而七月和八月通常则是最温暖的月份。

自然风貌与户外风光

苏格兰拥有巍峨的高山、雄阔的的峡谷、蜿蜒的海岸线、秀美的湖泊大川和葱郁的茂林,苏格兰以其独特的美景享誉全球。

苏格兰也是徒步者的天堂,有河边闲庭信步的小径,又有如西高地路和南高地路这种长距离徒步路线,还有为探险者设计的高海拔登山道。

得益于许多专门兴建的森林服务中心,山地自行车成为苏格兰最令人称道的一项户外运动。其中,苏格兰边境皮布尔斯附近的格林裘斯是欧洲规模最大、最著名的山地自行车中心。

苏格兰野生动物资源丰富,有罕见的苏格兰野猫,还有重新成功引入到阿盖尔南普代尔森林的海狸。其他苏格兰野生物种还有赤鹿、松貂、水獭、生猛飞禽以及诸如海豚、鲸鱼之类的海洋哺乳动物。您还能在苏格兰的许多水域惊喜地发现一跃而起的三文鱼。