International Companies in Scotland

Leading global companies have been attracted to invest in Scotland because of the country’s reputation as a premier location for business, research and development.

Many leading international companies have expanded their operations into Scotland, including Amazon, which employs 3,000 people over four sites in Scotland, Hewlett Packard, which employs 1,400 people and has been based here for over 25 years, Lifescan - which employs 1,200 people and its Inverness HQ is the base for all diabetes R和D into blood glucose monitoring carried out worldwide by the company. Other well-known global companies operating in Scotland include Samsung, Barclays, GlaxoSmithKline, BNP Paribas, Mitsubishi Power Systems, Pfizer and Gamesa.

A number of Chinese companies have also chosen to expand into Scotland, including the Bank of China, Lenovo, Cochrane International, and the Ningxia Zhongyin Cashmere Company.

Case Study: Animal Health Science UK Ltd

A life sciences company that specializes in developing livestock vaccines for the Chinese market launched a new facility in Scotland in 2015.

Based at the Moredun Research Institute in Penicuik, with an office in Beijing, the company has ambitious development plans to have a turnover of £1.2 million by the end of its first year in business.

Why Scotland?

The company highlighted Scotland’s unrivalled expertise in animal health R&D, collaborative opportunities and relationships with academia as determining factors in its decision to locate in Scotland. 

Dr Claude Kaplan, managing director, Animal Health Science UK Ltd, said: “In deciding where we wanted to base our company, we looked at locations which offered world-class animal health R&D capabilities, a proven track in developing vaccines and a reputation for collaboration with industry. Here at Moredun, and in the surrounding Easter Bush area, we found the largest cluster of animal health R&D expertise in Europe with the full capabilities we require to enable us to effectively and efficiently bring new vaccines and vaccine technologies to China."

Case Study: Sykes

Sykes is a leading global business services company with over 45,000 employees in over 20 countries worldwide. The company’s Scotland operations include centres in Edinburgh and Galashiels. 

Sykes opened their Edinburgh centre in 1995 and today the facility has over 500 seat capacity. Working 24 hours a day, seven days a week, the centre provides support in 18 languages to global customers. The Edinburgh centre offers expertise in customer contact support, technical support, e-commerce and client finance.

Why Scotland?

Having enjoyed a long relationship with Scotland, Sykes continue to see their centres as playing a key role in their global operations. The award-winning support provided by their Edinburgh staff includes a shared resource model, giving clients even better value for money. 

In Scotland, Sykes have found a highly skilled and readily available workforce, language capabilities that support global operators, a strong work ethic and low absence rates, an advanced IT and telecoms infrastructure and competitive costs. 

Case Study: Dell

Dell’s UK business centre opened in Glasgow in 2005 and they now employ over 800 people in Scotland. 

Dell’s City Park office in Glasgow operates as s UK business centre. Sales and technical staff support corporate customers across the UK, ranging from small to medium sized enterprises, large businesses and the public sector.

On top of winning a multi-million contract with Glasgow City Council to supply a full ICT service to the city’s primary and nursery schools, Dell has secured a number of high profile wins within the Scottish private sector. 

Why Scotland?

Dell considered city locations in both England and Wales alongside Glasgow, but the combination of a high-quality workforce, excellent transport and communications infrastructure and assistance from the Scottish Government made Scotland a clear winner. 

Scotland’s central belt gives companies like Dell access to 250,000 high calibre graduates every year from IT and technically related courses. The centre employs people in all functions from HR and Finance through to Sales and Marketing as well as IT.

苏格兰的国际企业

苏格兰在商务和研发方面的优势享誉全球,并吸引了众多国际领军企业前来投资。

许多国际领军企业已经将业务拓展到苏格兰。其中,亚马逊的3000名员工分布在苏格兰四大网点;旗下共计1400名员工的惠普公司已在苏格兰扎根超过25年之久;而拥有1200名员工的强生理康公司(Lifescan),,其在因弗内斯的总部是全球糖尿病研究及血糖监控业务的基地。其他在苏格兰运营的全球知名公司有三星公司、巴克莱银行、葛兰素史克公司、法国巴黎银行、三菱电力公司、辉瑞和歌美飒等。

一些中国公司已经选择在苏格兰拓展业务,包括中国银行、联想公司、柯克伦国际和宁夏中银绒业有限公司等。

案例:动物健康科学有限公司(英国)

2015年,一个致力于为中国市场发展家畜疫苗的生命科学公司已在苏格兰投入使用。位于佩尼库克的Moredun研究所在北京设有办公室,该公司的宏伟计划是在第一年年底实现120万英镑资金的营收。

为什么选择苏格兰?

该公司强调了苏格兰在动物健康领域的独特优势、与学术界密切的关系和合作机会,这些都是该公司选择在苏格兰建立基地的重要考量。

动物健康科学有限公司(英国)的执行董事克劳德·卡普兰博士说:“在为公司选址时,我们的主要考量因素有:世界级动物健康研发能力、疫苗领域的资深经验以及与工业生产合作的声誉。在Moredun,还有东布什地区周围,我们找到了欧洲最大的动物健康研发技术链,它能帮助我们有效地将新疫苗及疫苗技术带到中国去。”

案例:赛科斯有限公司 

赛科斯是一家全球领先的商务服务公司,在世界超过20个国家拥有45000名雇员。该公司在苏格兰的爱丁堡和加拉希尔斯都设有业务。

赛科斯于1995年在爱丁堡开设中心,如今其设施可容纳500人。每周7天,每天24小时运营,该中心使用18种语言为全球顾客提供服务。爱丁堡中心提供的专业服务包括:顾客联络支持、技术支持、电子商务和客户金融。 

为何选择苏格兰?

在与苏格兰建立长期友好关系的同时,赛科斯将苏格兰中心视为他们全球业务中的关键环节。爱丁堡的员工给客户提供多项获奖级服务,其中包括共享的资源模式等,以给予客户资金更多的回报。

在苏格兰,赛科斯找到了高技术稳定工作队伍、支持全球运营的多语言能力者、规范的职业信条和极低的缺勤率、先进的IT和通讯设施以及具有竞争力的运作成本。

案例: 戴尔

2005年,戴尔在格拉斯哥设立了英国商务中心。目前为止,戴尔在苏格兰的雇员已超过800名。

格拉斯哥的城市公园办公室是戴尔在英国的营运中心。其销售和技术员工对整个英国的企业客户提供支持,包括中小型企业以及大型商务和公共部门。

除了与格拉斯哥市政府签订上百万合同,以便为该市的小学和托儿所提供完整的ICT服务外,戴尔还锁定了许多苏格兰私营企业的项目合同。

为何选择苏格兰?

英格兰、威尔士的几个城市以及格拉斯哥,都曾是戴尔开发业务基地的选项。苏格兰高素质的劳动力市场、完美的交通和通讯设施,还有苏格兰政府的有力支持让其最终选定落户苏格兰。

苏格兰的中间地带为像戴尔这样的公司每年提供从IT到技术领域近25万高素质的毕业生。该中心所雇佣的人员来自各个专业,有人力资源、金融服务业、市场推广、营销还有IT专业。