Investing in Scotland

Scotland is a land that combines rich history and culture with world leading industries - famous for our excellence in education and strengths in invention and research. 

We already have a strong record in inward investment, thanks to our excellent business support, physical infrastructure and academic achievement. Our approach to supporting the growth of industry clusters, for example, has seen concentrations of companies develop in leading industries such as oil and gas in Aberdeen, life sciences in Edinburgh and Dundee and financial services in Edinburgh and Glasgow. 

This is supported by our well-developed transport links, with five major international airports serving more than 150 destinations. All this is underpinned by a highly skilled workforce, with the highest educational attainment of any part of the UK. In fact, more than 50% of the working population has further education attainment.

Set against this background, it is no surprise that we consistently attract significant foreign direct investment. Scotland recently recorded a third successive year as the UK’s most successful inward investment location outside of London in the well respected annual EY Attractiveness Survey. 

As important as the work we do to bring new investment into Scotland is our support for overseas companies once they are here. Every year for the last five years the number of expansion projects by existing investors has increased (more than 200 in total) - demonstrating that, once here, our investors are enjoying ongoing growth.

At Scottish Development International (SDI), we remain focused on building on this momentum. We are continuing to work with national governments, local authorities and universities to make the connections which will help generate more new investment and jobs, and really deliver for Scotland. 

Find out more about Scotland Development International’s role

在苏格兰投资

苏格兰是一个综合了悠久历史、丰厚文化和优秀工商业的地方。我们优良的教育品质、杰出的科研和创新力都世界驰名。

在对内投资上,我们已有不俗的成绩,这得益于我们优质的商务支持、基础设施和学术成果。我们对企业的支持一般集中于我们的优势领域,例如:阿伯丁的石油天然气领域、爱丁堡与邓迪的生命科学领域,还有爱丁堡和格拉斯哥的金融服务领域。

这些成果也得益于我们完备的交通网络。五个国际机场直达世界150多个目的地。所有的这些都建立在具备完善技能的劳动力的基础上。从教育程度来看,我们有着全英国最高的平均教育水平。超过50%的劳动力都有继续教育学历。

在这样的背景下,我们无疑有能力持续吸引巨大的海外直接投资。最近,苏格兰连续三年蝉联英国年度外资吸引力调查榜榜首(除伦敦以外地区)。

相比引进新投资而言,我们同样注重为落户苏格兰的海外公司提供支持。过去五年中的每一年,在苏格兰的投资方都在扩大他们的项目数量(总计超过200个)。这一数据表明,一旦选择了苏格兰,我们的投资方愿意留在这里继续发展。

 

苏格兰国际发展局(SDI)任然继续致力于促进这一发展趋势。我们继续和政府、本地政府和高校合作,互通有无,以进一步帮助发展创造更多新的投资机会与就业岗位,真正地服务于苏格兰。

 

更多详情,请参见苏格兰国际发展局网站。