Trade

Scotland has traded with China for centuries. Today, stronger commercial links between our two countries mean greater trading opportunities for both. Scottish exports to China hit a record-breaking £605 million: the value of Scotland’s exports to China in– an increase of 118% over a five-year period. Chinese businesses also benefit from trade links with Scotland, and commercial collaborations between partners based here and in China are growing in frequency.

Global demand for Scottish products and expertise

Exports ranging from textiles to technology carry Scotland’s name around the globe, reinforcing our worldwide reputation for quality. We supply a remarkable variety of goods and services – both traditional and cutting edge.

Scottish textiles have an enviable clientele, including Chanel, Mulberry, Louis Vuitton, Prada and other leading fashion houses. We export our tartans and tweeds, lace and leather to more than 150 countries. We took Gore-Tex to the world. Garments made in Scotland – such as cashmere and lambswool knitwear – also have a global following.

Heavy industry once produced much of the goods we exported to China. Many of our exports today are the product of pioneering research and precision engineering – whether in energy, life sciences or technology. A 10 million USD green energy deal signed in 2011 took technology developed in Scotland to China for use in an energy conservation plant.

Scotland’s expertise in education has helped to establish new universities in emerging markets. Our financial acumen has led to the development of sophisticated financial and insurance products used globally.

Almost two-thirds of Scotland’s total exports relate to the food and drink, chemicals, business services, electronics and instrument engineering, and mechanical engineering sectors.

Fresh Scottish salmon is exported to nearly 60 countries.

About 25% of UK food and drinks exports are Scotch whisky.

Scotland exports textiles to more than 150 countries.

Food and drink exports in focus

Scotland’s fresh waters are responsible for two of our biggest exports: Scotch whisky and Scottish salmon.

Scotch whisky accounts for 80% of our food and drink exports. We sell whisky in around 200 markets worldwide, exporting 40 bottles every second of every day. China is one of the fastest growing markets for Scotch whisky, which was granted Geographical Indication of Origin status by China in 2010, to protect it from counterfeit products.

Scotland exports its famous Scottish salmon to 60 countries. China has a real taste for our fresh salmon – it’s our third most important export market for the delicacy. Since securing an export health certificate in 2011, Scotland has been able to export salmon direct to China. Chinese exports are now worth around £90 million from a standing start six or seven years ago

We’re one of Europe’s largest seafood producers, and the third largest producer of farmed Atlantic salmon in the world. More than two-thirds of the world’s langoustines – destined for the menus of some of the finest restaurants – are also sourced in Scotland.

The premium quality and flavour of Scottish produce means that our food and drink exports are growing. Countries the world over are getting a taste for our outstanding dairy produce, quality craft beers and traditional baked goods, among other delights.

Contact

We can help your business to build trade links with Scotland, whatever your industry sector. Impartial advice from our trade advisers can help you to understand business practices in Scotland and make the most of the opportunities and support available here.

Contact us

贸易

苏格兰与中国的贸易往来已有几个世纪。如今,两国间增强的商业联系为双方带来了更多的贸易机会。苏格兰对中国的出口额高达空前的6亿500万英镑:苏格兰对中国的出口价值5年内增长了118%。与苏格兰的贸易联系也令中国企业受益,苏格兰本土和远在中国的合作伙伴之间的商务合作越来越频繁。

全球对苏格兰产品和专业知识的需求

从纺织品出口到技术输出,苏格兰的名字已被全球熟知,其品质声誉在世界范围内得到了提高。 无论是传统行业还是尖端科技,苏格兰都能提供种类繁多的商品和服务。

苏格兰纺织品承揽了令人艳羡的客户群,包括香奈儿(Chanel)、玛百莉(Mulberry)、路易·威登(Louis Vuitton)、普拉达(Prada)以及其它顶级时尚服饰公司。苏格兰将格子呢、粗花呢、蕾丝和皮革出口到150多个国家,将戈尔特斯(Gore-Tex)推向了世界。当地制作的服装——如羊绒和羊毛针织品——也吸引了一批全球追随者。

苏格兰的重工业曾生产大部分出口到中国的货物。而如今它出口的许多产品却是能源、生命科学或是技术领域开拓性的研究成果和精密工程。2011年签署的价值1000万美元的绿色能源协议将苏格兰开发的技术输送到中国,应用于一家节能电厂。

苏格兰已经借助其教育领域的专业知识在新兴市场上建立了新的大学。苏格兰凭借其金融敏感度开发了应用于全球的高级金融和保险产品。

食品和饮品、化学品、商业服务、电子产品和仪器仪表工程以及机械工程部门的出口量占苏格兰总出口量的近三分之二。

新鲜苏格兰三文鱼出口至近60个国家。

苏格兰威士忌占英国食品和饮品出口量的25%左右。

苏格兰纺织品出口至150多个国家。

聚焦食品饮品出口

苏格兰有两大出口产品依赖于本地的淡水:苏格兰威士忌和苏格兰三文鱼。

苏格兰威士忌占苏格兰食品饮品出口量的80%。远销世界各地200个市场的威士忌每天每秒钟的出口量为40瓶。中国是苏格兰威士忌进口量增长最快的市场之一。2010年,为免遭假冒伪劣产品的侵害,苏格兰威士忌在中国获准注册原产地地理标志。

苏格兰将其出名的三文鱼出口到60个国家。钟爱新鲜苏格兰三文鱼的中国是这款美味的第三大最重要的出口市场。自2011年取得出口卫生证书后,苏格兰已能直接向中国出口三文鱼。苏格兰对中国的三文鱼出口起步于六七年前,目前出口额为9000万英镑左右。

苏格兰是欧洲最大的海产品生产商之一,也是世界第三大大西洋养殖三文鱼生产商。海螯虾是许多高档餐厅的必选食材,其世界产量的三分之二以上都来源于苏格兰。

苏格兰产品优良的质量和风味意味着其食品饮品的出口量正在不断增长。世界各地的国家越来越喜爱苏格兰的优质乳制品、精酿啤酒、传统烘培食品以及其它的美味佳品。

联系我们

无论您从事何种产业,我们都可以协助贵企业与苏格兰建立起贸易联系。我们的贸易顾问能提供中肯的建议来帮您了解苏格兰的商业惯例,让您最充分地利用这里的商机和支持。

联系我们