Living in Scotland

Scotland is famous for its incredible history, its vibrant culture, its sprawling green spaces and scenic mountainous countryside. Scotland has kept its proud heritage, but we are at the forefront of innovation. It is a country that leads the development in green energy, engineering, medical research and technological advancements. Our country is one of world-class cities surrounded by awe inspiring nature.

For centuries, people from all over the world have been choosing to live in Scotland. As well as our unique landscape and excellent study and work opportunities, you will find friendly and welcoming people and a great quality of life.

You can help make that move go as smoothly as possible by taking the time to research beforehand what matters to you most.

Here is some key information on aspects of life in Scotland:

Lifestyle

Many people have been drawn to Scotland by the career opportunities but also by the appeal of enhancing their quality of life. The average working week in Scotland is 9am to 5pm, Monday to Friday. This leaves plenty of time for socialising whether you prefer to go out for dinner, drinks and a movie in one of the urban city centres or if you are more inclined to go for a hike, cycle or even ski. The great outdoors is never more than a short commute away from being in the heart of a city.

All the major Scottish cities have great public transport links, such as train lines and bus routes, reducing your need to use a car and making commuting easy.

If you like to live in the countryside, there are many towns and villages that are within an hour’s commute of many of Scotland's business centres.

Another great thing about Scotland is the extra daylight in summer. It can remain quite light up to 11 pm – leaving plenty of time to get out and about. You could be walking in the hills or take a stroll on one of Scotland's many beaches - some of which are within 40 minutes of Glasgow and Edinburgh, and some of which are right on your doorstep.

The cost of living in Scotland is generally less expensive than other places in the UK and the further away you live from the city centre, the cheaper it gets. As for day-to-day living, Scotland has great schools, a good healthcare system and excellent transport links.

Scottish Weather

Scotland has a temperate climate, which means there are no real extremes. There can be a lot of rain throughout the year but it is rarely very hot or cold. There is often some snowfall during the winter months, particularly over the Highlands. 

In terms of average temperature, January and February are generally the coldest months in Scotland, with the daytime maximum temperature that ranges on an average of around 5° to 7°C. July and August are normally the warmest months in Scotland, with temperatures of an average 19° to 20°C.

Communications in Scotland

Most parts of Scotland have access to high speed internet and there is signal coverage for mobile phones that reaches more than 90% of Scottish homes and businesses. The Scottish Government is dedicated to improving access to the internet across Scotland.

Starting your life somewhere new can be pretty daunting but it’s also very exciting. Visit the Live & Work in Scotland section to find out more.

生活在苏格兰

苏格兰以其独特的历史、活跃的文化、广阔的绿地和如画的山区而闻名于世。苏格兰保留了丰富的历史遗产,同时,它也站在创新的前沿。这是一个领导绿色能源、工程、医疗研究和技术创新等领域的民族,这里也是一个为奇美大自然所环绕的国度。

多个世纪以来,世界各地不断有人选择迁居到苏格兰,不仅仅因为我们有独特的自然风光、丰富的学习和工作机会,更是因为这里有友好的人民和高品质的生活。

 

如果您事先做好足够的准备,迁居到苏格兰可以是一件很轻松的事情。

以下是关于在苏格兰生活的一些关键信息:

生活方式

许多人被苏格兰的工作机会和生活品质吸引而来。在苏格兰,平均工作时间是周一到周五,上午9点到下午5点。这样的工作时间给人们留出了足够的个人时间:您可以去社交、出去用餐、去喝两杯,或是在市区看一部电影,您也可以去登山、骑车、甚至滑雪。优质的户外场地永远不会离市中心太远。

所有苏格兰主要城市都拥有完备的公共交通系统,例如火车线路和公车线路,减少私家车的使用率,让出行更为便捷。

如果您喜欢乡村生活,城市1小时车程内也有许多小镇或村庄可以选择。

苏格兰的另一个优点是它夏天超长的白昼时间。日光可以一直持续到晚上11点----这也给人们有了更多可以出去走走的时间。您可以散步上山,或是在海边漫步----有些海滩离格拉斯哥和爱丁堡仅40分钟,有些可能就在您家门口。

苏格兰的生活成本,总体而言,低于英国其他地方。而且离城市中心越远,生活成本越低。对于日常生活而言,苏格兰有优质的学校、健全的医保体系和完善的交通框架。

苏格兰天气

苏格兰地处温带地区,很少有极端天气。虽然全年雨水较多,但是它很少会极其炎热或极其寒冷。冬天时常会有雪,特别是在高地地区。

从平均气温来讲,一月和二月是苏格兰最寒冷的月份,白天平均最高温度在5°到7°度之间。七月和八月通常是苏格兰最温暖的季节,白天平均最高温度大约19°到20°度。

苏格兰通信

苏格兰大部分地区都可以接入高速英特网,并且有超过90%的家用和商用区域被移动通讯信号覆盖。苏格兰政府仍在整个苏格兰范围内努力提高这一覆盖率。

开始一段新生活往往是艰难的,但也是让人兴奋的。访问生活和工作在苏格兰专题,获取更多信息。