Key Projects

As part of the engagement between Scotland and China, a number of key projects have been introduced to strengthen links between the countries.

These projects have been developed in three sectors: education, culture, and business. From academic exchanges to new trade links, both Scotland and China can benefit from a partnership which fosters the exchange of knowledge and resources. 

Business

Scotland is attracting investments form companies all over the world, including many in China. By investing in Scotland, Chinese companies can open up new trade opportunities with one of the most dynamic and resourceful countries in the world. 

The partnership between Scotland and China has already led to an increase in exports of Scottish food and drink to China. Scotland also exports luxury textiles and fashions, renewable energies equipment and technologies, and oil and gas based equipment. The two countries regularly collaborate on projects in science and technology. 

Find out more about Scotland and China in business. 

Education

A number of education projects, which will foster academic exchange between Scotland and China, are already underway. 
The number of opportunities for students in both countries is rising, as universities in Scotland offer faculty and student exchanges and the possibility of shared, collaborative research. Universities are also beginning to offer courses delivered jointly between the two countries. 

The partnership has already led to an increase in the number of Chinese students coming to study in Scotland, with over 8,500 students in 2013/14 – a 57% increase since 2006/7. 

18 Higher Education Institutions in Scotland now have academic and research links with Chinese institutions, offering mutually beneficial research arrangements and study opportunities for students from both Scotland and China. 12 of Scotland’s Universities now have a presence in China, and in 2014 there were approximately 150 ongoing and new Sino-Scottish research collaborations in China. 

Culture

Cultural exchange between Scotland and China has already had a great impact on tourism and business in both countries. 

One of the most famous examples of cultural exchange between the two countries is the transfer of two giant pandas to Edinburgh Zoo. The pandas have been lent to the zoo as part of China’s breeding programme and have already gained popularity with animal lovers in Scotland, as well as raising awareness of the plight of pandas in China. 

Scotland’s festivals, and especially the Edinburgh International Festival, offers a perfect opportunity for Chinese companies and performers to showcase the range of talents that China has to offer. Also, a number of internationally-renowned performance companies including Scottish Opera, the Scottish Ensemble and the Royal Scottish National Orchestra have conducted tours throughout China.

重点项目: 商业,教育及文化

为了增进苏格兰和中国的关系,双方正在几个重要项目中一起合作以增进中国和苏格兰的联系。

而这些重点项目分布在三个领域:教育、文化和商务。从学术交流到贸易联系,苏格兰和中国在信息和资源的交换中,彼此都能获益。

商务

苏格兰吸引了来自世界各国公司的投资,其中也包括了很多中国公司。通过在苏格兰的投资,中国企业能够与进取多元、资源丰富的苏格兰,开拓更多商业机会。

苏格兰和中国的合作关系已经带来了苏格兰对中国食品和饮料出口的增长率。同时,苏格兰也向中国出口奢侈纺织品、时尚品牌、再生能源设备技术,以及石油和天然气开采设备等。两国在科技项目中的合作日益密切。

欲了解更多详情,请访问苏格兰与中国商务。

 

教育

一系列增进苏格兰和中国的学术交流教育项目已经展开。

苏格兰和中国大学的交换生项目以及合作研究项目,为两国学生带来了许多海外求学的机会。苏格兰和中国大学开展的联合培养项目,让学生们有机会在两个不同国家生活并完成学业。

这种合作关系让苏格兰的中国留学生数量在2013/14学年达到了8500名,比2006/7学年增加了57%。

已有18所苏格兰的高等教育机构和中国的教育机构开展了学术和科研合作,达成了互惠互利的合作研究方案,同时也给苏格兰和中国的学生创造了更多求学机会。苏格兰现有12所大学在中国设立了办事处。截至2014年,正在进行中的中国苏格兰科研合作项目约有150个。

文化

苏格兰和中国的文化交流已经对两国的旅游业和商贸业产生了巨大影响。

其中两国最著名的文化交流案例,就是爱丁堡动物园的两只大熊猫。这两只大熊猫由中国政府出借给爱丁堡动物园,并在苏格兰参与大熊猫育种计划。两只大熊猫迅速获得了苏格兰动物爱好者的亲睐,同时也提高了苏格兰人民对大熊猫在中国生存困境的认识。

苏格兰的各个艺术节,特别是爱丁堡国际艺术节,为中国的演出团体和演员提供了展示中国才艺和文化的舞台。同时,许多苏格兰演艺公司也选择中国作为自己的巡演目的地。苏格兰歌剧院、苏格兰弦乐团和皇家苏格兰国家交响乐团都在中国进行了演出。