Student Life – What to expect

With over 48,000 international students studying in Scotland, it’s clear why many choose Scotland as the best place to further their education.

We’ve highlighted some useful information you should consider when choosing to study in Scotland.

Student Accommodation

There is a range of accommodation options if you choose to study in Scotland. Nearly all Scottish universities offer student accommodation to international students, providing a great way to meet new people, gain independence and make lifelong friends.

Halls of residence, or student halls, are a popular choice with students because it can make living independently that little bit easier – catering and cleaning services are often provided. Also, the number of students staying in halls means making friends is easy.

Student housing is another option, in which students can rent a room in a flat or a house, sharing with other students. These are smaller than halls and many students find houses to be quieter and more private.

You can also choose to buy a property whilst you stay in Scotland. There is a huge range of housing options from newly-built city flats or old Victorian homes. In recent times house prices have dropped in Scotland, making it a buyers market. While most properties are sold through estate agents or solicitors (lawyers), you can also buy privately from the owner – though you will still need a solicitor to do the legal work. 

Scottish Hospitality

If you choose to study abroad, it can be a daunting prospect. The people of Scotland, however, will make you feel more than welcome. Scotland has a diverse, multi-cultural society, with dozens of different cultures living in harmony. Tolerance, equality of opportunity and social justice are important principles of Scottish people and communities.

Read more about Scottish people and culture

Food & Drink

Thanks to the vibrant Scottish culture, you’ll find a wide variety of cuisine on offer. There are numerous top quality restaurants in the main cities, including Chinese restaurants. There is plenty of traditional Scottish food on offer featuring fresh seafood, world-class beef and of course – the infamous haggis.

There are many bars, pubs and cafes if you feel like heading out for a drink or a quick bite to eat. However, there are also Chinese supermarkets in Scotland’s major cities if you feel more comfortable cooking at home.

More on Scottish food & drink

Social Life

There are plenty of opportunities to socialize when studying in Scotland. The major cities have a wide variety of shopping and entertainment and with a superb transport system you won’t have any problems getting around.

Scottish universities have lots of societies and clubs, so you’ll easily find like-minded people to share your interest with. Scotland is also known for having some of the best student nightlife, so you can expect a lot of fun and opportunities to meet people.

Getting Around

Scotland has a comprehensive transport infrastructure, with a wide range of methods to get around. Within our cities themselves getting about is very easy. Scotland has a number of bus operators who run very regular timetables. As well as about town, many bus routes also go to rural areas so you can relax and enjoy a day out. Beyond buses, Glasgow also has a reliable underground tube service while Edinburgh recently completed a brand new tram system.

Scotland is ideally located in relation to some of the other major European cities. Excellent train routes and a number of airports make getting to London and Europe a breeze. Our international airports include Glasgow, Edinburgh and Aberdeen. From here you can access many European destinations (Germany and France can be less than two hours away) or enjoy direct flights on long international routes.

学生生活—生活展望

目前,超过48000名国际学生在苏格兰学习生活。他们选择苏格兰作为留学地的原因是显而易见的。

在此,我们罗列了一些考虑选择来苏格兰念书时有用的信息。

学生住宿

在苏格兰留学,您有许多住宿选择。几乎所有的苏格兰大学都向国际学生提供学生宿舍,让他们有机会结识新朋友,并提升自己的独立能力。许多学生还能通过这样的经历交到一生的挚友。

学生宿舍,往往是留学生的热门选择,因为它可以让独立生活稍稍轻松----学生宿舍常常提供餐食及清扫服务,另外,宿舍生活也能帮助您更容易地交到朋友。

学生公寓是另一种选项。学生可以在一套公寓中租一个房间和其他学生共用其他公共区域。这种公寓面积不大,但是许多学生觉得这种住宿方式更清净,也有更多私人空间。

当然您也可以选择在苏格兰购买一处房产。许多新建公寓或者老式维多利亚房公寓楼都可以作为您的选择。近几年,苏格兰房屋价格有所下跌,让楼市成为买方市场。虽然苏格兰大多数房子都是通过中介和律师进行交易,但您也可以直接从房主手里买房-----只不过,您还是需要通过律师操作过户登记等法律事宜。

苏格兰待客之道

出国留学可能是一个让人焦虑的选择。但苏格兰人会让您感受到家人般的温暖。苏格兰是一个多元文化的社会,几十种不同的文化在这里和睦共处。宽容、平等和社会公义对于苏格兰人和社区来说都是重要的原则。

阅读更多有关苏格兰人与文化的信息

饮食

苏格兰文化充满活力,您能在这里发现天南海北的不同料理。在许多苏格兰主要城市,都能找到顶级餐厅,这其中也包括不少中餐馆。传统苏格兰美食选择也很丰富,比如新鲜海产品、世界顶级牛肉,当然还有著名的哈吉斯。

这里也有许多酒吧、酒馆、咖啡厅,在您需要快餐或者喝一杯的时候,都是不错的选择。苏格兰许多大城市都有中国超市,在您想念家乡美食时,您也可以亲自下厨。

阅读更多关于苏格兰饮食的信息

社交生活

在苏格兰学习,您会有许多社交娱乐的机会。苏格兰大城市往往有完备的购物与娱乐设施,便捷的交通系统不会让出行成为麻烦。

苏格兰大学有许多社团和俱乐部,所以您会很容易找到与您志同道合的朋友。苏格兰还有很棒的学生夜生活,所以您也可以期待许多欢乐和结识朋友的机会。

出行

苏格兰有着完善的交通设施,您不会被出行问题所困扰。在每个城市内部,出行都非常便捷,苏格兰有几家公车运营商,他们都有精确的时间表,方便快捷。即使您的目的地是在郊外,也有不少公车线路可以把您带到偏远地区,在那里,您可以放松和郊游。除公交以外,格拉斯哥还有一条可靠的地铁线路,而爱丁堡的电车系统也于近期刚刚投入使用。

从苏格兰前往欧洲的其他主要城市也十分便捷。完善的铁路路线和一定数量的机场,可以轻而易举地把您送到伦敦和欧洲各地。我们有格拉斯哥、爱丁堡和阿伯丁三座国际机场,从这里您可以到达许多欧洲目的地(两小时之内可到德国和法国),还有些国际长途航线无需中转,可以直接到达。