Scotland. The Land That Inspired Outlander

If you have found yourself caught in the mystical and magical Outlander saga and wish to be swept away to Claire and Jamie's world, come and experience the land that inspired the writer Diana Gabaldon and the TV series producers. From ancient and mysterious standing stones to dramatic castles, magnificent stately homes and breath-taking landscapes, visit Scotland and embark on an inspiring journey.

Outlander Premiere

Delve into the past

There's a haunting air of mystery that cloaks the Highlands, and the region's turbulent history has left behind some of the most beautiful and romantic castles in the world. From Dunvegan Castle on Skye and Brodie Castle in Moray to the Castle of Mey in the North Highlands - they really are as magnificent as people say! But it's not only about the castles, although they are pretty amazing. Learn about the infamous massacre at the Glencoe Visitor Centre, and see Glenfinnan Monument, a tribute to the history of the Jacobite uprisings.

Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobite Risings

The Jacobite rising of 1745 was the attempt by Charles Edward Stuart (commonly known as Bonnie Prince Charlie) to regain the British throne for the exiled House of Stuart. Bonnie Prince Charlie sailed to Scotland and was met by a gathering of Highland clansmen in support of the cause. The march south began with an initial victory at Prestonpans near Edinburgh. The Jacobite army, now in bold spirits, marched onwards to Carlisle, over the border in England. When it reached Derby, some British divisions were recalled from the Continent and the Jacobite army retreated north to Inverness where the last battle on Scottish soil took place on a nearby moor at Culloden. The Battle of Culloden ended with the final defeat of the Jacobite cause, and with Charles Edward Stuart fleeing with a price on his head, before finally sailing to France.

Scotland is dotted with fascinating historic sites, from romantic castles to enigmatic standing stones, while the country's past is shrouded in mystery and legends. Find your ideal Castle Leoch or the mysterious Craigh na Dun!

Castles

Towering spires, thick stone walls and dramatic settings - whatever pops into your mind when you imagine a castle, you'll find it in Scotland. From magnificent city landmarks to mysterious ruins, Scotland is bursting with fascinating castles to visit.

Unlike palaces, which were built for enjoyment, Scotland's castles were built for strength and protection. Their main purpose was to withhold enemy attacks and keep their occupants safe - needless to say each castle has seen plenty of dramatic stories unfold over the centuries!

Clans

While the term ‘clan’ means family or children in Scottish Gaelic, not everyone in the same clan was actually related to each other. The clans lived off the land, with cattle being their main source of wealth and, along with border disputes, the prime cause of inter-clan unrest. The most important clan chiefs at this time were part-kings, part-protectorates and part-judges and they held real power over their controlled lands.

The system remained largely intact until the time of the bloody Battle of Culloden in 1746, where the Jacobite rebellion was mercilessly crushed by the royal troops of King George II.

By this point, improved trade and communication links between northern and southern clans were already leading to the dilution of the clan system and the infamous Highland Clearances effectively signalled the end as thousands of Scottish land workers sought the promise of a better life on distant shores.

Did You Know? Outlander Facts…

  1. Diana Gabaldon herself admits that Scotland plays a starring role in the series! Do you agree?
  2. In the outlander TV series, the opening credit song is an adaptation of a Scottish folk tune called the ‘Skye Boat Song’ and features an adapted version of Robert Louis Stevenson's poem ‘Sing Me a Song of a Lad that is Gone’ to fit the story.  It recalls the escape of Bonnie Prince Charlie to the Isle of Skye after the defeat at the Battle of Culloden in 1746.
  3. The language spoken by many of the Outlander characters is Gaelic, and it can still be heard in some parts of Scotland.
  4. Those who continued to support the exiled James II, Jacobus being the name in Latin, became known as ‘Jacobites'.

《古战场传奇》开始的地方:苏格兰

若您已深陷诡秘魔幻的《古战场传奇》的冒险故事之中,心心念念想要被卷入克莱儿和杰米的世界,那就快来体验一下给作者黛安娜·盖伯顿和电视剧制作人们带来灵感的这片土地吧。从古老神秘的巨石阵到壮观夺目的城堡,再到富丽堂皇的豪华古宅和摄人心魄的美景,苏格兰将为您开启一场震撼之旅 。
 

《古战场传奇》首映礼

探究历史

苏格兰高地总是被一层挥之不去的神秘气氛所笼罩着,这个地区动荡的历史为后人留下了世上一些最为瑰丽和浪漫的城堡。从斯凯岛(又名天空岛)上的邓韦根城堡,到马里的布罗迪城堡,再到高地北部的梅伊城堡,每一座果真都如众口相传的那般辉宏!然而,城堡固然令人惊叹,高地的历史却不仅止于城堡。在格伦科游客中心,您可以了解到那场臭名昭著的大屠杀,还可以参观那座纪念詹姆士二世党人起义历史的格伦芬南纪念碑。

美王子查理与詹姆士二世党人起义

查尔斯·爱德华·斯图尔特(通常称为美王子查理)于1745年发动了詹姆士二世党人起义,试图为遭到流放的斯图尔特家族重夺英政权。美王子查理经海路到达苏格兰,得到了一众支持起义的高地族人的接见。队伍南下不久便在爱丁堡附近的普雷斯顿潘斯取得先头胜利。詹姆士二世党人军队彼时士气高涨、无畏无惧,长驱直入英格兰,继续向卡莱尔行进。当队伍抵达德比时,遇上了被从欧洲大陆召回的一些英国师部,詹姆士二世党人军队撤退到了因弗内斯以北,在其附近的卡洛登的一处荒野上进行了苏格兰土地上的最后一次搏杀。卡洛登战役彻底终结了詹姆士二世党人的反抗,查尔斯·爱德华·斯图尔的首级遭到悬赏缉拿,他落荒而逃,最终经海路逃到了法国。

从浪漫的城堡到神秘的巨石阵,苏格兰迷人的古迹可谓是星罗棋布,而它的过往却又笼罩在神秘和传说之中。快来寻找您心目中的理士城堡或者神秘的克雷尼顿巨石阵吧!

城堡

当您想象一座城堡的样子时,无论眼前出现的是高耸的塔尖,厚实的石墙还是令人惊叹的地理景观,您都会在苏格兰找到那座能吻合您梦想的城堡。从壮观的城市地标到神秘的废墟,苏格兰处处都有迷人的的城堡供您参观。

与建来享受的宫殿不同,苏格兰的城堡必须要建造得牢固且能起保护作用。它们的主要作用是抵御外敌进攻以及保证堡内居民的安全——更不用说,在历经几个世纪后,每座城堡都有着讲不完的奇闻异事。

部族

虽然“clan”(部族)在苏格兰盖尔语中的意思是家庭或者孩子,但同一部族中的人不一定和彼此有亲属关系。各个部族以务农为生,牛群是他们主要的财富来源,牛群连同边界争端一起也成为了部族间骚动的主要原因。这个时期最重要的部族首领既是国王、执政官也是裁判者,他们实权掌握着自己所控制的领土。

直到1746年血腥的卡洛登战役爆发时,这种体制在很大程度上仍旧完好无损。国王乔治二世的皇家军队在此场战役中无情地粉碎了詹姆士二世叛党。

此时,北部和南部部族之间更加完善的贸易和往来联系已经开始导致部族体系的淡化。声名狼藉的“高地清除”运动导致了成千上万的苏格兰农业劳动者流向遥远的彼岸去寻找更好的生活, 基本上预示了部族体制的终结。

《古战场传奇》小知识知多少?

  1. 黛安娜·盖伯顿本人承认,苏格兰是该剧的主打星!您同意这个说法吗?
  2. 在《古战场传奇》中,片头主题曲改编自苏格兰民调《斯凯岛船歌》,歌词则改编自罗伯特·路易斯·史蒂文森的诗歌《请为我唱首那不知所踪的孩子的歌吧》来烘托剧情。它追忆了1746年美王子查理在克洛登战役战败后,逃离到斯凯岛的往事。
  3. 《古战场传奇》中许多人物说的语言是盖尔语,苏格兰一些地区至今还沿用这种语言。
  4. 特别提示那些继续支持流亡的詹姆士二世的观众朋友,Jacobus是詹姆士的拉丁文名字,它后来成为大家口中的“Jacobites”(詹姆士党人)。