Scotland's Leading Sectors

Scotland is well-known in a number of sectors for the quality and reliability of its output. 

Key Scottish industries

Financial & business services

Scotland is immensely proud of a successful 300-year history in financial services. Today, our country is of Europe’s 4th largest asset management centres, employing nearly 100,000 people directly. Companies based or headquartered in Scotland include RBS, Standard Life, Aberdeen Asset Management and Aegon.

Renewable energy

Scotland has just 1% of the EU population but 25% of Europe's wind and tidal resources. We already generate nearly 50% of our gross electricity consumption from renewables so it's no wonder Scotland is at the forefront of green energy innovation and committed to the widespread adoption of renewable energy sources.

Life sciences

Scotland is home to one of Europe’s largest life science clusters - more than 650 organisations employing over 35,000 staff - and is an acclaimed leader in research, development and manufacturing. Pioneering scientific breakthroughs include the cloning of Dolly the sheep, the development of MRI scanners and the discovery of p53 cancer suppressor gene.

Higher Education

Our world-class academic sector makes a major economic contribution - our 19 universities create an annual economic impact of £6.7bn. Our higher education institutes work with over 26,000 companies every year to turn R&D into new products. In fact, Scotland scores 5.8 out of 7 for university-industry collaboration in research and development - above OECD countries such as the US, Germany and Japan.

Gas & oil

Scotland is estimated to have the largest oil reserves in the EU and our energy sector is internationally renowned for research and innovation. With 40 years' experience, Scotland has a reputation for expertise and energy education. Scotland's gas and oil sector supports 2,000 supply chain companies, 225,000 jobs and has exports to 100 countries worldwide. The city of Aberdeen is world-renowned as an international gas and oil centre of excellence and is widely regarded as the 'oil capital' of Europe.

Food & Drink

The food and drink sector is of huge importance to the Scottish economy, contributing nearly £14bn worth of turnover annually, with ambitious targets to be reached by 2017. With the worldwide acclaim as the 'Home of Whisky', Scotland exports 40 bottles of whisky overseas every second. Scotland is also one of the largest seafood producers in Europe, exporting Scottish Salmon to over 60 countries.

Sustainable tourism

Tourism makes a significant contribution to Scotland's economic prosperity, employing over 210,000 people and generating almost £6.4bn annually. Scotland's rich culture and heritage is a huge draw for international audiences - Scotland is home to over 350 annual festivals, including the world's biggest arts festival, the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Creative industries

This rapidly growing sector builds on Scotland’s proven track record in digital media innovation and creative enterprise. Supporting more than 57,000 jobs, this industry covers a broad spectrum of businesses including gaming, film, TV, music, architecture, design and the arts. Scotland is home to one of the finest 3D animation studios and best-selling action series Grand Theft Auto.

ICT and electronic technologies

Thanks to 50 years of electronics manufacturing and an enviable academic record in research, Scotland is a world leader in the electronics field. Recently, the industry has reinvented itself as a successful producer of high-end electronic technologies.

Textiles

Scotland has long been credited with amazing creativity and superb production in the textile industry – and exports to more than 150 countries worldwide. Today, the sector is leading the way in luxury textile fashion and boasts an enviable client list which includes Chanel, Hermès, YSL, as well as BMW, Boeing and Emirates Airlines.

苏格兰的领军行业

苏格兰有一些品质出众、声名远播的王牌领域。

优势苏格兰产业

金融和商务服务

苏格兰为其在金融服务领域300多年的历史而倍感骄傲。如今,苏格兰已成为欧洲第四大资产管理中心,直接雇佣10万名员工。在苏格兰设立公司和设立总部的公司包括:苏格兰皇家银行、渣打人寿、阿伯丁资产管理和荷兰全球人寿保险公司。

新能源

苏格兰的人口只占整个欧洲人口的1%,却拥有欧洲25%的风能和潮汐能。我们接近50%的用电已经靠新能源提供。所以毫无疑问,在绿色能源创新领域,苏格兰处于先导地位,并仍致力于推广新能源的利用。

生命科学

苏格兰有着欧洲最大的生命科学团队包括了650多家机构,其雇员超过35000名。他们是科研、开发和生产领域的领头羊。苏格兰的先锋科技突破包括克隆羊多利、开发核磁共振扫描仪以及发现P53抗癌基因等。

高等教育

我们的世界顶级教育领域为经济做出了巨大贡献----19所高校每年的经济影响力约67亿英镑。我们的高等教育机构有26000多家合作企业,每年都能将科研成果转化成新产品。事实上,苏格兰大学与工业研究开发合作评分为5.8分(总分7分),这一得分高于美、德、日等经合组织国家的评分。

天然气和石油

据测,苏格兰拥有欧洲最大的石油储备,而我们能源产业的科研与创新也世界闻名。经过40年的实践,苏格兰在能源教育和能源专家方面声名远播。苏格兰的石油天然气支持2000家连锁公司,创造了225000个工作岗位,并向世界其他100个国家出口。阿伯丁是世界著名的国际天然气和石油中心,也是欧洲公认的“石油之都”。

食品和饮料

食品和饮料行业在苏格兰经济中具有着极其重要的地位。每年营收近140亿英镑,在2017年甚至有望再创新高。作为世界闻名的“威士忌之乡”,苏格兰每秒钟向世界出口40瓶威士忌。同时苏格兰也是欧洲最大的海鲜出口国之一,苏格兰的三文鱼畅销全球60多个国家。

可持续旅游业

旅游业对苏格兰的经济繁荣做出了重要贡献。该行业提供21万个就业岗位,并且每年能够创造64亿英镑的经济收入。苏格兰丰富的历史文化遗产对世界各地的游客有着巨大的吸引力—苏格兰每年有350多个节日,包括世界最大的艺术节—爱丁堡艺穗节。

创意产业

这一迅速成长的新行业建立在苏格兰数码媒体创新和创意企业的成功基础上,已经取得了不俗的成绩。创造了57000多个就业岗位,这一行业涵盖了从游戏、电影、电视、音乐、建筑、设计到艺术的众多商务领域。在苏格兰还诞生了最顶尖的3D动画工作室和最叫卖的动作游戏系列《侠盗猎车手》。

信息通信技术和电子技术

凭借着50多年的电子制造经验与强大的学术依托,苏格兰在电子领域也处于世界领先地位。最近几年,行业已逐步实现了向高端电子技术提供者的转型。

纺织业

苏格兰在纺织行业一直以其匠心独运的设计和高端品质而为世人所知晓,其纺织品销往世界150多个国家。今天,它更引领着奢侈纺织品的时尚发展风向,并受众多高端客户的青睐, 例如:香奈儿、爱马仕、圣罗兰,还有宝马,波音公司和阿联酋航空。